Practice These Things

Rebekah Beene

Pulling out old piano books, I found that one had notes pinned to it. These notes showed the dates of my lessons and the cost of those lessons as well as the payments made for them. My teacher was an older lady who had taught for many years. I wasn’t big on practicing. I could play by ear so I enjoyed the idea of playing more than the practice. There was one young man who took lessons right before me. One day I heard him practicing on a beautiful song. I had to play that. My teacher cautioned me that I could not do that one. It was too technical for my level. I persevered and she got me the sheet music for it. Since I was determined and desired to play that song, I practiced and practiced and practiced. Sure enough I could play it well. I amazed my…

View original post 418 more words

Leave a Reply

